Monday, November 17, 2008 – another day at World Vision [Tbilisi, Georgia]

Today I thought I would teach the “Hokey Pokey” to the kids who were studying English and to help them learn body parts in English I would have a handout for them them to write the words on. The school has a computer lab so I was able to find a simple body diagram online and then print it out. I was only able to print one copy but then they said I could use the Xerox to make photocopies. I guess they only have one Xerox in the entire school because when we went to make copies the ink cartridge was out and they didn’t have any alternate suggestions for us. I was a little disappointed but then decided since I did have one copy I would just trace it by hand to make multiple copies. It took a while but I did it! The kids had a lot of fun learning the body parts but when I gathered them in a circle to try to teach the “Hokey Pokey” they were getting a little confused! I think it was a little more complicated for them than I imagined, but at least they made an effort to try to learn!

From UNICEF’s & World Vision in Georgia
From UNICEF’s & World Vision in Georgia

As usual my day with the kids was a lot of fun and I know I’m really going to miss them when I leave. It’s been such a joy to be a part of their lives, even for such a short time.

View Photo Album