Saturday, November 22, 2008 – a hair cut, a World Vision competition & dinner in little America! [Tbilisi, Georgia]

I have been in desperate need of a hair cut and I was planning to wait until I got back to the States but when I asked my host mom how much a hair cut would cost in Tbilisi I immediately decided it would be in my best financial interest to get a hair cut here. I mean $5 Lari for a haircut?! Are you joking?? That’s equal to $3 Dollars! Of course I would get a hair cut here! Ok, so to be honest I was a little nervous on how it would turn out, but I figured for US$3 it was worth taking a chance and if I didn’t like it I could always get another hair cut when I got back to the US. The hair cut didn’t take more than fifteen to twenty minutes and believe it or not I really like it! I wish it were about an inch shorter but other than that it looks great.

At 1pm I took Marshrutka number 6 to Public School No. 24 where the World Vision IDP kids (internally displaced persons) were having a sports competition. This is the second weekend World Vision has hosted a competition between the six IDP schools; the first weekend was academic and this weekend was sports. They competed in climbing, basketball, jump rope, tug of war and football (soccer). The kids had a lot of fun, as did I as I helped cheer the kids on, shouting the team name “Vicandgabby” over and over (“Vicandgabby” is Georgian for Vikings). The competition finished around 5pm with an award ceremony and our team came in at 2nd place (out of six teams total). I was so proud of them!!

From World Vision Competition
From World Vision Competition
From World Vision Competition
From World Vision Competition

http://www.youtube.com/user/G3Adventures

After the awards everyone headed to McDonald’s where World Vision bought all the kids happy meals. I was unable to go because I had dinner plans at Kathy and Gary’s house. Kathy is the leader from Thursday’s women’s gathering and her husband Gary is the one who works at the American Embassy. Dinner was absolutely fabulous! We had very tender baked chicken that feel off the bone, a lettuce salad with all kinds of vegetables (Georgian salads usually consist of only cucumbers, tomatoes and onions), a few different pasta dishes and other sides. For dessert we had a few Georgian treats (chorchxella & bird’s milk which is a chocolate covered marsh mellow), fruit, and my favorite of all…ice cream with three types of topping; butterscotch, caramel, and chocolate! I thought I had died and gone to heaven! Although I hate the thought of what my cholesterol level is at the moment with all the cheese and ice cream I’ve had over the last month. My doctor would kill me if he knew I was eating so many things with saturated fat! Gary told me that the Embassy provides free shipping for up to 2500 pounds for the two years families are stationed at their location which is absolutely fabulous. They have all sorts of things, even food items from Trader Joe’s, my absolute favorite grocery store! Maybe I should send my application to the American Embassy around the world…at least to the one’s that provide such a life of luxury! 🙂